Property Tax Exemption Saves Seniors Money, Helps To Make Ends Meet
In Colorado, senior citizens who have lived in their homes for more than 10 years can qualify for what is called the Senior Homestead Exemption. If they qualify—and in years when the program is funded by the state—this exempts half of the first $200,000 of a senior’s home value from property tax, and can significantly decrease their property tax bills.
In 2012, the Colorado legislature passed, and Governor John Hickenlooper has signed, a bill that funds the Senior Homestead Exemption for this year. The result will be reduced tax bills for qualified seniors in 2013. Applications for the exemption must be submitted by July 16, 2012.
Mesa County Assessor Barbara Brewer and her staff are hosting a local town hall meeting to discuss issues related to this tax exemption, and to help interested seniors navigate the application process. This Town Hall meeting will be Thursday, June 14, from 3 to 5 p.m. at the Old Mesa County Courthouse (544 Rood Ave.), first floor multipurpose room. Mesa County Assessor Barbara Brewer and staff will be at the meeting to answer questions. Also, more information can be received by calling 970-255-7140 or emailing email@example.com.
The Senior Homestead property tax exemption is available to senior citizens and the surviving spouses of senior citizens. The exemption was approved by Colorado voters in 2000.
When the State of Colorado budget allows, 50 percent of the first $200,000 of actual value of the qualified applicant’s residence is exempted from property tax. The exemption was last funded in 2008 (for 2009 property taxes).
The exemption only applies to a person’s primary residence, and you may only apply for the exemption on one property. Once you have been approved for the exemption, it remains in effect until a disqualifying event occurs.
To qualify for the property tax exemption in 2012 (for taxes due in 2013), an individual must
• Be at least 65 years oldon Jan. 1, 2012;
• Be the owner of record, and must have been the owner of record of the property for at least
10 consecutive years prior to Jan. 1, 2012;
• Occupy the property as his or her primary residence, and must have done so for at least
10 consecutive years prior to Jan. 1, 2012.
You can find more information about the senior homestead tax exemption at www.mesacounty.us/assessor.